During the past month we’ve reached out to many teams who were using Lingo and asked them how we could make the product better. Many of the people we spoke with wanted a more robust permission system so they could better manage who can edit their team’s assets — after all driving brand consistency is a key value of using Lingo. So today, we’ve released our first layer of team permissions.
There are now 3 team roles: Owner, Admin and Member. Below is a quick chart breaking down the permissions of each role.
Team Ownership is automatically granted to the team creator. Ownership can be transferred to anyone on the team. There can only be one team owner at any given time. Team owners have the most permissions, including updating and changing billing information.
Team Admins have all the permissions of team owners, including full read and write access to all team kits, and the ability to invite other members. However, they can’t view or manage billing information or delete the account.
Members have the least amount of permissions. By default members only have read access to team kits, however, an admin or team owner can give members full read and write privileges to specific kits in the Members tab on the kit in the dashboard.
We’ve also made it easier to invite team members. You can now simply copy a single team invite link from your dashboard and share it in Slack or email — no need to create individual invitations. This will be especially time-saving for teams needing to onboard a lot of users. Anyone joining through this link will be added as a “member.” To give them more permissions, go to the Members tab in the dashboard to make any member an admin.
We hope all these changes make it easy for you to share your Lingo with your entire team, so you can empower creation and ensure design consistency.
The Lingo Team.